MaR_advice

Tech Tuesday: If You’ll be in DC for the Inauguration – You’ll Need This!

Posted on: January 13, 2009

In honor of President-Elect Obama’s Inauguration next week, I thought I’d write about a technology that many drivers will need when in DC – a Bluetooth headset. DC drivers are not allowed to be on their cell phone while driving!

I’ve had three Bluetooth headsets – one Jawbone and two Jabras. I’ll discuss with you my Jawbone and my current Jabra headset.

clip_image002

Jawbone – how I loathe thee. (img from moble.co.uk) Jawbones are gorgeous and my bf says they’re the best Bluetooth headset he’s ever used, BUT I have to disagree. I hated mine. People couldn’t hear me; I changed my ear pieces to see if it would adjust better – just so many problems with mine. The sleek design was great, BUT I couldn’t find where the buttons were for adjusting the volume and such. To top it off, Jawbones are not the cheapest! The best thing about them though is that you didn’t have to charge them every night and it only took one hour to fully charge. But you don’t have to take my word for it. (Side note, remember Reading Rainbow and how the host would say that after every book he introduced?)

clip_image004

Jabra – I love you. It’s easy to use and more comfortable in my ear! No one complains about not being able to hear me and it’s not that expensive. I do wish it had a better battery lifespan and didn’t need to be charged every night (I’m bad at charging my electronics). All of that aside, my new Jabra makes me happy, it’s easy to use with gloves on AND all of the buttons are defined. (img from blueunplugged)

So there you have it folks, my assessment for the two Bluetooths I’ve used. Let me know if you have questions or would like to add to the current list. Happy talking – hands free!

MaR_advice: It doesn’t matter what type of Bluetooth you use when you’re in DC – just have one! Security is going to be VERY tight and with the estimated amount of people coming into DC (about 1-4 million), the police will be likely looking for ways to give people tickets.

6 Responses to "Tech Tuesday: If You’ll be in DC for the Inauguration – You’ll Need This!"

From what I read, a lot of networks probably won’t be working that day because of the massive amount of people that will be in the area… sooo I guess people won’t even need a bluetooth haha

Random, but Nic & were just saying “Don’t take my word for it * da dun dun!*” just the other day. However, we were referring to books, just like Reading Rainbow. Haha.

Oh, and I’m soooo glad I don’t leave near DC- there’s gonna be MAD traffic….. have fun with that :]

… I meant to say “Nic & I”

@dxiv – if the inauguration turns out to be like New Years and the cell services are crazy – then yeah, you’re right. But it’s not bad to own!

@Maureen – I knew what you meant. It sucks to live so near DC, BUT at the same time exciting!

I’m just jealous that you’ll be off! LUCKY YOU! I’ll be in my office, staring at the wall… no not really

@Jen – Don’t be jealous of the horrific traffic that I’ll endure the next day omy to work. =/

Leave a Reply

