MaR_advice

Monday, Monday: 25before25 Update

Posted on: January 12, 2009

About one month ago, I declared to you that I plan to lose 25lbs before I’m 25. I think I owe you an update.

I haven’t been working out as much as I hoped I would. I mean, my trip to Disney/Universal had me walking or standing in line for at least 10+ hours in a span of 6 days. You would think I would have lost weight then, but then I celebrated New Years with my relatives in SC and that TOTALLY trumped my exercise. Filipino family parties are crazy and full of food. Nonstop eating and my aunties throwing alcoholic beverages at me left and right.

Those are not excuses and I should train myself to have some sort of tolerance and self-control. This past week was a little better. Thanks to my friends Kris and Quyen, I’ve taken up swimming. Swimming is a great full body workout (if you do laps in the pool). It’s only been one week, but my arms are still sore (I just learned how to swim freestyle – thanks Maureen).

I also took my first Zumba class on Saturday. Zumba rocks! My sister, Erin, and I loved the class so much we’ve signed up for their 8-class session. If you like to dance – this is one of the best workouts. It’s not that hard to follow and the choreography is fun. The moves are sexy and can probably be mimicked at a club! I HIGHLY recommend taking Zumba! Here’s an example of what you can expect in a Zumba class:

Now for real my update: I’m still the same weight as I was one month ago. No change and it doesn’t seem like my 25 before 25 will be achieved in by my bday- but maybe 15lbs. I stopped drinking alcohol and other beverages that aren’t water – except at the clubs. When my friends and I do go out clubbing, I drink diet coke mostly for the caffeine (I’m an old fart and I will probably fall asleep at like 11 w/o it). I’ve also been eating a lot of salad and soup, and have minimized fried/junk/fast food. I will also start doing my daily exercise videos again.

That’s my update. Thanks again for your support everyone! I hope you enjoyed your weekend.

MaR_advice: Sometimes you can find yourself off the course you intended. When that happens, pick yourself up and find a way for you to get back on that path. Remember, the only person that can push you or get you to find/stay on that course if yourself. Don’t lose hope.

Tags:

8 Responses to "Monday, Monday: 25before25 Update"

That looks like fun!

OoOh Zumba! I wonder if there’s any places to take it in Va Beach. I’ve never heard of it before. It looks & sounds like fun though!

Don’t be discouraged if you’re not reaching your weight loss goal. You know fat turns into muscle, so even if you’re not actually losing weight, you’re still getting in shape!🙂

YEAH! Looks fun! :]

But I haven’t been keeping up with my “get fit” plan. I’m still trying to find a good schedule for everything.

@nicolegmones – its is fun. you and @Maureen should see if they have any classes in Richmond.

@Janelle – if you find places in Va. Beach, make Jen go with you! And thanks for the reminder and encouragement. I have to keep telling myself muscle weighs more than fat…hahaha.

Hahah! I would be sooo shy in a Zumba class… then I would act like an immature kid if I saw a man in Zumba class! Just watching a man do those “Beyonce-like” moves is enough for me!

LOL Jen! If I find a class I’m dragging you with me.😛

Good luck with your goal! I am too lazy/poor to actually drag my butt out to the gym so I have settled for exercising on my wiifit.

@Kimberly – I haven’t used our Wiifit in ages! I did see a video of this guy who spent like an hour on Wiifit everyday, watched what he ate and lost weight. I’ll find that vid and send it to you. Goodluck! Remember, any exercise helps! Good luck to you, too! AND Happy New Year! =)

Leave a Reply

