MaR_advice

This blanket has sleeves and a cowl neck?

Posted on: November 10, 2008

My apologies for straying off the editorial calendar course. Last week was crazy, but I’m back on track now.

While watching TV with my man, we stumbled upon a commercial for The Snuggie Blanket – a blanket with sleeves.

With the sudden cold weather becoming quickly unbearable, Snuggie Blanket comes to the rescue. A full length blanket, which comes in three different colors, keeps you warm and frees your hands.

OK, great concept right? Except one thing…I think it looks a little too much like a cult robe. I also thought of a Jedi robe. What do you think?

clip_image002

(image from Amazon)

MaR_advice: If you’re feeling cold this winter, look at your alternatives to stay warm. Snuggie Blanket, although made for everyone and anyone, may not capture your particular taste. You have options…like turning your heat on or wearing sweat pants. I believe there’s a reason why designers constructed clothing using velour.

15 Responses to "This blanket has sleeves and a cowl neck?"

yes, definitely jedi knight/harry potter-esque action going on. i’m not really a fan of american apparel due to their skanky marketing schemes, but they do have a versatile circular scarf out this season.. kind of a similar concept, peep it.. http://i.americanapparel.net/storefront/images/altimages/rsa2502.html

Oh whhhhaaaat . . . . I need that sci fi scrumptiousness.

Ryan would cry if I actually sported this thing (“you have too many baggy sweaters!”) but I will send him the link anyway. Hahahahah

@ Jz – That link was hilarious! The thing about that scarf is you can wear it in different ways. The Snuggie only allows you to wear it in ONE way. Hahaha.

@Qui – Let me know what Ryan thinks. I’ll tell him you want this for Christmas (I’m secretly hoping you’ll think of something better though…like the Beyonce aka Sasha Fierce CD? hahaha)

Think you can fit two people in there? Sucks there’s only holes for one person. Muahahaha.

Why do I already have a sinking feeling that Qui has already ordered a lifetime supply of these blanket/sweaters?

Oooh that scarf Jian was talking about, I wanted that! I couldn’t find the American Apparel at Georgetown. BUMMER! I can always order online, or put it on my Christmas list.

Hahaha, I can totally picture you in this snuggle blanket!

@ Janelle – You can try to fit two people in it. Although, I think it won’t be very comfortable…hahaha.

@Ryan – You and Qui should definitely get matching Snuggies! That would be cute…can’t you picture it? You both walking down M Street in your Snuggies…

@Jen – I’m mad you like that scarf! Hahahaha. You can make that scarf look fashionable though. The Snuggie, unless you add a belt, some hoop earrings and maybe some knee-high boots, can’t be placed in that category of trendsetting.

I totally want a snuggie…J made fun of me and called me an old lady😦 Haha. They are kinda weird though…

When I first saw the Snuggie commercial, my first thought was “What’s the difference between that and merely putting my terrycloth robe on backwards?” Isn’t the Snuggie just another robe? AND, yet, when you look at the pics on getsnuggie.com, the initial visual response is “Oh, it looks like a Benedictine monk’s robe!”

@ Larissa – It’s OK if you purchase one. Make sure to take pics when you wear out with Josh! Hahaha.

@ John M. Kirton II – Yes, it looks like a Benedictine monk’s robe! Great description. It must be comfy and warm though if people are really purchasing it.

[…] if this becomes mainstream like the Snuggies, all I have to say is […]

I have one for my family, they really love it.

[…] my BF’s bro Rolan and his GF Jerilyn gave it to me. Last year, I wrote a post about the Snuggie and how I thought it was awful. Since then, this wannabe blanket sensation has even graced the set […]

[…] if this becomes mainstream like the Snuggies, all I have to say is […]

[…] my BF’s bro Rolan and his GF Jerilyn gave it to me. Last year, I wrote a post about the Snuggie and how I thought it was awful. Since then, this wannabe blanket sensation has even graced the set […]

Leave a Reply

