MaR_advice

An Ode to Firsts

Posted on: October 22, 2008

It’s been a huge obstacle for me to start actually writing in my blog. I’ve learned that dedication is key if you want to fully engage, contribute, and build relationships within the blogosphere.

The main reason for my procrastination was this simple question: where to begin? As I started formulating ideas in my head, I decided that the most appropriate post would be an ode to ‘firsts.’

Here are three of the ‘firsts’ I’ve experienced this year that I’m proud of:

  • Obtained a fulltime job – which I love. I have to say, I am blessed. After a rocky start on the job hunt it felt like I was never going find a job suitable for my needs: a place to learn, strengthen my skills, and a great working environment with awesome co-workers/bosses.
  • Took a flight – by myself. I’ve already flown twice this year own my own. I went to Miami for a bachelorette party (good times!) and Atlanta to visit the CNN studio, Georgia Aquarium and Coke-Cola Factory. Sitting next to strangers isn’t so bad; I’ll just refrain from wearing my “Bloggers Talk to Strangers” shirt next time…
  • Sponsor a child. Through the Christian Foundation of Children and Aging, I help a little girl in the Philippines receive proper education.

What are some of the ‘firsts’ you’ve experience this year that you’re proud of? Did you get your first real job, too? Start your first year in college? Buy/rent your own place?

MaR_advice: No matter what you’re proud of – whether it’s something big as getting your first real job or something little as flying on your own – you should always be happy to share it with your family and friends. Celebrate!

8 Responses to "An Ode to Firsts"

Oh Mar! 2008 is very promising so far.

Started the married life
Turned a house into a home with the husby
Tweaked the cooking skills

I’m glad you started your blog again! =)

hmm, let’s see!
first year of college
first time living away from home

that’s all i can think of, doop.

Look at all of us living the dream! If Dr. Botan could only see us now…

Oh yay your first post! Glad to see that things are going well.🙂

As for me…
I’m at my first real job.
I made chicken piccata for the first time last night & it was YUMMO.

And that’s about it. lol.

First…
Uh….
First time being a VP- I’m usually Pres. HAHA.
First time taking a quick trip to Virginia Beach (when I say quick, I mean I was there for less than 2 hours).

Thanks for your input ladies!!

@Jen & @Nicole @m0wene – Congrats on all of your accomplishments to date!

@suburbanette I miss Dr. Botan. Haha. I think he would be proud knowing we’re using our college education… =)

@Janelle I love cooking too!

Mean Girls is also one of my favorite movies. I dig your idea of having your bf be a guest blogger. I’ve been thinking about having mine do that one day. He just needs a few nudges.

@maricellina : I asked my BF to do my Tech Tuesday post, but he declined. I think he’ll just become my source for ideas on the subject matter. =)

Leave a Reply

